Prof. Kei May LAU was Elected as Fellow of The Optical Society

Fang Professor of Engineering Prof. Kei May LAU, Chair Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering, was elected as 2019 Fellow by The Optical Society (OSA) for “exceptional contributions to hetero-epitaxy of III-V on silicon by MOCVD for photonic devices”.


She is one of the 98 Fellows elected this year for their significant contributions to the advancement of optics and photonics. It is a distinguished honor as no more than 10% of the total OSA membership may be Fellows at any given time, and the number elected each year is limited to approximately 0.5% of the current membership total.


"It is exciting to us having our work on integrating III-V devices on silicon by direct growth being recognized by the photonics community," Prof. Lau said.


Founded in 1916, The Optical Society's (OSA) mission is to promote the generation, application and archiving of knowledge in optics and photonics and to disseminate this knowledge worldwide. Principal factors for election to OSA Fellow include candidates’ achievements in business leadership, education, research, engineering and service.


With this new fellow honor, the ECE Department now has three OSA fellows in its current faculty, including Prof. Kwok Hoi-Sing and Prof. Qu Jianan.


Related Links

The Optical Society Announces 2019 Fellows Class (Oct 22, 2018)

2019 OSA Fellows

Prof. Kei May LAU (right) was presented the OSA fellow plaque by OSA Vice President Prof. Constance J. Chang-Hasnain at the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics 2019 in San Jose, California, US on 7 May

What to read next